Patient testimonials

Arthroscopic Trochleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction

August 11, 2016

I had an arthroscopic trochleoplasty with mpfl on my left knee done by Dr. Lars on Sept 20 2014.

My first dislocation was at the age of 10 just kicking a soccer ball. After that incident I would dislocate around every other year. I love sports so this wasn’t going to slow me down. I had a lateral release done at age 17. After taking it easy several years later I still dislocated. I thought this was the way my knee was and I would have to live with it for the rest of my life. Playing basketball someone undercut me on my shot and I dislocated again. This time I knew it was bad. Days later I had a hard time walking and months later I couldn’t run. I reached out to multiple Orthopedic specialist traveling to California. They recommended a TTT, Mpfl, and one noticed a shallow groove but was not comfortable operating on my knee. I went online and learned about trochleoplasty. I saw pictures of people being cut open and their recovery time, which really scared me. But one name stood out and that was Lars Blond. Why is his name the only one popping up for Arthroscopic Trochleoplasty. I emailed Lars sent him my MRI images. We skyped and he explained to me that the surgery would help me. Coming from Hawaii this was a big leap for me. Never been to Denmark and I had a long ways to travel. I took the leap and went for the surgery. Lars and his staff are true professionals. I stayed over night at the hospital and I was bearing weight. I was able to shower the same day with a bag over my leg. I stayed in Denmark for 2 weeks got some Therapy done. I traveled from Denmark to New York to California and back to Hawaii.

I started PT when I got home. Getting range of motion back was the hard part. But fast forward to almost 2 years late at age 30. I would say that I am satisfied with the surgery. I still keep in contact with Lars through email. I don’t think about dislocating anymore its like a thing of the past. My leg is about 95% at the moment. I still need to strengthen it some more due to muscle atrophy. If you have considered doing the surgery contact Lars and he will give you his honest opinion. But from my own experience he changed my life.

Kenneth Chan

Kneecap prosthesis – osteoarthritis kneecap

My name is Lisbeth Stuart and I had surgery on my left knee in November 2017 and my right knee in 2019 by Lars Blønd. Lars was virtually the only doctor/orthopedic surgeon of all time to see and recognize that my pain, movement restrictions and feeling of instability in my knees were caused by several different factors – including the guide grooves for the kneecaps not being deep enough and my kneecap being pulled crooked. This had led to wear and tear of the cartilage on the femurs and under the kneecaps. I have therefore had prosthetic surgery on both knees with the insertion of a patellofemoral prosthesis (Hemicap Wave). The difference from before the surgeries to now is huge. I don’t have pain like before and I can go for long walks and the like without my knees and legs swelling up too much. Without hesitation, I can recommend both the surgery and Lars Blønd, who is extremely professional and skilled while being interested and empathetic in relation to his patient.

Lisbeth Stuart

Arthroscopic trochleoplasty + MPFL reconstruction

13th February, 2017

I had an arthroscopic trochleoplasty with lateral release and MPFL done by Dr. Lars Blond in March 2016 and then the other knee in June 2016. Since about the age of 5 I have been having knee dislocations on average once a day but at its worst it could be 2 to 3 times a day although the right was usually worst as that would dislocate more although sometimes they would dislocate at the same time. I am from England and at the age of 7 I had my first MRI and inquired about what I could do here and found out that I would have to have open knee surgery with intensive recovery and physiotherapy. At the age of 12 in February 2016 we went to Copenhagen to inquire about what they could do about my knees as we knew then that my legs had stopped growing and if we could operate. We then found out that I could have key hole surgery on both knees with a far better percentage of it working and a far better recover and also fewer and smaller scars. We decided to go ahead with the operation and in March 2016 I had my first operation. I was very frightened when I went it to the hospital to get the surgery but although I was very scared all of the doctors and nurses were very nice and I felt so much calmer knowing they were there to look after me. After the operation it did hurt a lot and I had to go through recovery and therapy but now I have recovered even though it was only one knee better I already felt so much better for it. In June of the same year I went ahead with my second operation and this was far better. I recovered a lot faster this time and four days later I took my first steps on my knew knee and even though it hurt I was so glad that I had had it done. Now that I am 11 months on from my last operation I feel so much better for having it. I can walk so much better now and I am even learning how to run which I had not been able to do since I first dislocated my knee. I am so much happier now I have had it done and I haven’t had a dislocation since the operation and I can’t wait to see everything I wasn’t able to do before now that I have knees that will no longer dislocate. Lars was so amazing when I met him and so friendly he wasn’t scary like a doctor at all. He explained everything so to me and I couldn’t have asked for anyone better.

Megan Anstee

Arthroscopic trokleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction

December 26, 2016

My name is Laura Stricker and I am currently 15 years old. I’ve had many dislocated kneecaps and I twisted my right knee for the first time when I was in 3rd grade. I suffered from trochlear dysplasia on both my knees. I had my first surgery on my right knee in 2014 with arthroscopic trochleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction and was very happy with the result, so I decided to have my left knee done in late 2015. I have been through a lot of rehabilitation on both knees and I am happy to have had the surgeries. I trust my knees more and can now physically do the sports I want to do. Since I’ve been swimming for many years and I’m a competitive swimmer, I’ll continue with my swimming. But I could definitely be able to use my body in a completely different way than I did before. I also highly recommend having trochleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction surgery if you suffer from trochlear dysplasia. Your knees become more stable and your kneecap doesn’t dislocate. I will say, however, that trusting your knees takes work, but it’s something you will learn over time. When you’ve been walking for a long time and have been unsure of your knees, it takes a lot of courage to suddenly trust them. It’s certainly one of the things that has been the hardest to do. Today, I can fully trust my knees and be more physically active without the fear of dislocating my kneecap. But I struggle to squat down. I still can’t today, but I hope I will be able to at some point after all the hard rehab. I would like to thank Lars for doing two amazing knee surgeries and I am so happy today. I trust my knees and I haven’t had any knee slips since.

Laura Stricker

Arthroscopic trochleoplasty

This is what Mikkel wrote as a comment on LinkedIn after the 10 years jubilee of the arthroscopic trochleoplasty was posted. Mikkel was the first to undergo the procedure and had the same procedure in the opposite knee a few month after.

Already 10 years ago. My first meetings with you are clearly in the memories. Just from the relief over finally meeting an expert who had proper knowledge of my problem and the hope of another future. The long wait to get started with the operation. Again with the hope. Your High five just after surgery. Despair when it went wrong once. Till now, where I have the strongest knees ever and have released the fear. Doing crossfit three times a week, where they are pushed to max and I do not feel anything at all. Thank you so much for your courage to do it and for giving me a new life. Thank you very much, Lars, I will always be grateful to you for fulfilling my greatest childhood wish: Normal knee Sincerely.

Mikkel (edited)

Mikkel O

Revision cruciate ligament reconstruction

February 9, 2018 3rd time reconstruction of the anterior cruciate ligament in the left knee. My name is Peter Nielsen (57) and in 2016, at the age of 55, I had my 3rd new ACL inserted by Lars after a successful surgery. My “stone in the shoe” in life has been a pretty badly affected left knee. After playing a lot of sports in my youth, I tore my ACL in a soccer match in 1990. The knee was subsequently so loose that I could turn my thigh 45 degrees to the left over my lower leg without pain, and I often twisted my knee. At the time, there were experiments with artificial cruciate ligaments, including the so-called “abc ligament”, which was inserted into the knee. The first few years were difficult and painful, but I slowly got my knee going, started running again and participated in a number of marathons. In 2010, the knee had become very loose again and an MRI scan showed the consequences of ACL reconstruction with total or severe partial rupture of the synthetic graft. In 2011, a new cruciate ligament was inserted (taken from the left thigh). Unfortunately, this was demolished in the process. with a twisting trauma while playing sports in 2014. Subsequently, I could no longer run on the knee, which “collapsed” with severe pain after just a few meters of running. In 2015, after a referral, I met Lars for the first time at Køge Hospital. He assessed that the knee needed an MRI scan and subsequently an arthroscopy was performed. By the way, a really nice personal meeting with an incredibly competent doctor who took his time to inform me, while at the same time he seemed to have a great personal passion for his job and with a distinct desire for me to regain a good and usable knee despite my age and prehistory. The MRI scan had shown a drill channel in the tibia of 15-16 mm from the previous ACL surgery, so at Lars’ next surgery, 3 bone cylinders were inserted for use in the upcoming ACL surgery. 6 months after this operation, these bone cylinders had now grown together with the other tissue, and Lars Blønd performed another ACL operation, this time taking tendon from the right thigh. After another lengthy knee rehab, I’m left with a result that I’m incredibly happy with. I have a stable knee again. I continue to train the knee well, but also take good care of it. The result has turned out really well. I am left with a sense of gratitude to Lars for his responsiveness and his very competent work. But also a gratitude to his team at the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Køge Hospital, where everyone has been incredibly kind and welcoming. It has been another eye-opener for me. a well-functioning healthcare system and I’m happy to pay my taxes.

Peter Nielsen

Anterior knee pain and rotational osteotomy

In the summer of 2021, I had my left femur rotated. This was after a special scan of my hip, knee and ankle showed that my femur was rotated incorrectly. An MRI scan had previously shown that my kneecap was misaligned and causing osteoarthritis. I had been experiencing increasing knee pain around the front of my knee for a while and it was challenging my mobility in everyday life. The solution was a femur rotation surgery performed by Lars Blønd. The surgery went as planned, my leg was straightened and my kneecap sits straighter on my knee. Fingers crossed for no osteoarthritis. I experienced (perhaps surprisingly) no pain, a good healing process and was able to walk without crutches again just over 5 weeks after surgery. The good thing about this surgery is that you can support your leg right away. This means you can move around a bit and are less dependent on others. And everything is suddenly rehabilitation! Getting up from the couch, getting food and snacks, going to the bathroom and when you eventually dance with joy again. Every day, sometimes almost hour by hour, you can feel that you can do more and more again. Luckily, it’s fast and it’s great! I don’t know if I can wish you “good luck” with the surgery, but I can at least say that I hope you’ll be as happy as I am.

Anita K.

Arthroscopic trockleaplasty and MPFL reconstruction

25 June 2016

My name is Cecilie Eriksen – I am 21 years old and underwent arthroscopic trochleoplasty on 18/11/15. I play sports at an elite level and have been part of the Danish national military team for young riders (18-21 years) for the past 3 years.

I’ve had knee problems for as long as I can remember. I was exempted from physical education from 4th-9th grade due to osgood-schlatter, but subsequently started a sports line in 10th grade as I was immediately finished growing and thus had to resume physical education. Unfortunately, a new problem arises in the very first PE class – my kneecap dislocates when running with direction changes at max speed. Ever since then, 2009, I have suffered from a loose kneecap with over 10 episodes of dislocated kneecaps. I had my first surgery in 2010 to reconstruct the ligament that holds my kneecap in place. However, this didn’t last, so he underwent a second surgery in 2011 for the same internal ligament reconstruction.

Some loosening sensations occur in the following years with uncertainty around the kneecap, but no dissidered slips. However, 2 episodes occur within the same week in the summer of 2015 and we realize that the problem is back once again. Fortunately, this condition hasn’t had any impact on my elite-level riding, as my knee is stable in a saddle. But the general uncertainty of normal walking (especially on uneven surfaces), all running, changes of direction, etc. has had an incredibly restraining effect on my life.

It wasn’t until the fall of 2015 that I came into contact with Lars Blønd – and there was no doubt that I needed the arthroscopic trochleoplasty procedure, as I was missing the natural groove in my femur bone where the kneecap should be.

I am having surgery on d. November 18, 2015, and subsequently starts physical therapy at ProAlign v. Micheal Knudsen 10 days after surgery. Among other things, I was introduced to Compex electrotherapy, which helped with muscle activation during daily training, post-workout aftercare and pain relief – I really wouldn’t have been without this device. In addition, my training has consisted of both walking and later running on the AlterG Tredmill (anti-gravity treadmill), which could take part of my own weight, so I could walk with less strain and thus relieve the operated leg. Throughout the process, I have been very diligent with my daily home exercises, and have thus reaped the fruit now that mine works really well. I still haven’t finished my rehab – I have 1.5 months to go, but I could clearly feel if there was a single day I missed my training, and certainly not in a positive way. The knee quickly became stiff, restless and the exercises became more difficult the next day. But by keeping myself in check and my general attitude of constantly pushing myself a bit, I already had full bend in my knee just 2 months after surgery. My full mobility came after about 4 months and I was able to resume full-time work, as well as riding on a daily basis, both dressage and show jumping.D. 10/4-16 I was really back in the sport, as I rode my first event after the surgery and even took home a superior victory.

The whole process has by no means been a bed of roses, as it has alternated a lot between good and bad weeks. It was a balancing act between constantly increasing the load on the knee, but at the same time being careful, as it can quickly take a turn for the worse. In terms of pain, the first 2 months were some of the worst I have ever experienced – my two ligament reconstructions are in no way comparable to this procedure, but by the 3rd month things started to improve, I have never felt any looseness around my knee at any point after the surgery, and now, just over 5 months later, I don’t have much discomfort. The knee can feel a bit if I’ve put a lot of stress on it, but it only gets better day by day – so I would definitely recommend this procedure and hope that I don’t have to deal with the uncertainty or similar knee episodes hopefully for the rest of my life.

Cecilie Eriksen

Arthroscopic trochleoplasty + MPFL reconstruction

4th May, 2017

When I was thirteen my kneecap dislocated for the first time. My leg was set in a cast for 6 weeks but little did it help. Within a year it had happened again and as time passed it happened more and more frequently. Every time I was in a cast for 6 weeks. Shortly before my 18th birthday it was decided to operate on the knee. By shortening the ligaments the kneecap should be more stable. I have to mention that this was in 1982 so a very long time ago. The operation did help me briefly but within a couple of years the kneecap started dislocating again. However I did not want to go though the procedure again so I learned to live with the frequent pain and the fact that I would never have a well funcioning knee. The years passed and about two years ago, when I was on vacation in Italy, something happened to make my knee worse than usual. As always, I told myself that it would pass. However it grew worse as the weeks passed. At the time I was lucky enough to be working at the same hospital as Lars Blønd so I asked him for his opinion. He immediately recognized that I had trochlear dysplasia and would benefit from arthroscopic trochleoplasty. An MR scan confirmed his diagnosis and within a few weeks he performed the operation. I was then 50 years old and had lived with the affliction for 37 years. I was also the oldest person to have the procedure at the time. It was a huge success and I will forever be grateful to Lars Blønd and his fantastic team. After half a year of physiotherapy I was able to walk without the constant fright of my kneecap dislocating and now, two years later, I am able to do so many things I was unable to do before like running, going to the trainingcenter or just something as simple as squatting down to pick something up or walking up a flight of stairs. It has given me a new quality of life and I only wish it had happend many years earlier. My knee is totally stable and I never worry about it any more. I thank my lucky stars for having met Lars Blønd and for having arthroscopic trochleoplasty. I can only recommend it to everybody with trochlear dysplasia. Do it….you will never regret it. It is so worth the long rehabilitation and everything else that comes with it.

Anne Mette Løth Holm

Relocation of the patellar tendon attachment

October 3, 2016

Henriette 45 years I had a fulkerson osteotomy done on May 2nd by Lars Blønd. After numerous surgeries on my right knee following a cartilage injury, I was offered this surgery to postpone a possible knee replacement. I went into it with very low expectations of the outcome. But to much shame. Because my everyday life is 80% better. I now have an everyday life with very little pain. My activity level is not at its peak as an athlete. But a good bike ride and long walks are no problem today. I have suffered from constant pain and disturbed nights for many years. The pain is now only during periods of overuse and can be managed with painkillers. I would recommend this surgery to anyone in a similar situation.

Henriette Kold

Arthroscopic trokleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction

October 4, 2016

I have suffered from trochlear dysplasia in both knees. In the summer of 2012 and 2013, I had an arthroscopic trochleoplasty operation combined with a MPFL reconstruction performed by Dr Lars Blønd. Since early childhood, I have experienced numerous patellar dislocations, all with a spontaneous relocation, but as a child I did not suffer from any significant pain. The following years were characterised by fewer dislocations and the last 2-3 years before my first surgery, I only had 1-2 dislocations per year. However, with increasing age the injuries became worse, were extremely painful, and required intensive physiotherapy and months of rehabilitation after each incident. The many dislocations progressively deteriorated the stability of my knees, which significantly affected my life, as even the simplest daily activities became a challenge. The year before my first surgery I had trouble walking, as I repeatedly experienced subluxations in my right knee every step I took. It was almost impossible to walk on slippery floors or walk on the sidewalk in the wintertime, as the slightest external rotation of the foot would dislocate the patella. It was rather a coincidence that I became acquainted with Lars Blønd and his procedure when a physiotherapist mentioned him. A couple of months earlier I was told by another surgeon, that there was no realistic treatable surgery to my knee problems. After my first consultation with Lars Blønd I was very relieved, as he was convinced that a stabilization of my knees was possible. After my first surgery in 2012, which was successfully performed, I suffered from severe oedema in my leg for about 6 months, which made me dependent on crutches the first 3 months. The extendibility of my knee was incomplete and the muscles were characterized by marked muscle atrophy. However, 1 year of intensive physiotherapist-directed rehabilitation supervised by physiotherapist Christian Weinold left me with a well-functioning knee. I regained full range of motion, strength and mobility and I was ready for the next surgery. After the second successfully performed surgery in 2013, I experienced a limited ability to bend my knee due to a very tight ligament. Starting out with only 40 degrees of knee flexion, it was a long and painful rehabilitation towards the achievement of full range of motion 10 months postoperatively. Like after the first surgery I suffered from obvious muscle atrophy, but with help from physiotherapist Christian Weinold and the use of electric muscle stimulation, I regained strength, mobility and functionality. The years of surgeries and rehabilitation were tough and painful, but I am extremely grateful that Lars Blønd managed to stabilize my knees and that Christian Weinold supervised and supported me during both rehabilitation periods. Presently, 3 and 4 years after my surgeries I have not experienced any dislocations, I feel no instability in my knees, and most importantly the constant anxiety of luxation is gone. I live an active life with only minor difficulties. I will never become a marathon runner, but I think I can live with that! – Amalie Frederiksen, 25 years (Denmark, 2016)

Amalie Frederiksen

Trochleoplasty and MPFL reconstruction

25 July 2016

I had an arthroscopic trochleoplasty with lateral release and MPFL done by dr Lars Blond on 4th of September 2013.

I previously had a history of 23 years of patella instability (I am now 34 years old). Almost every week my left patella was jumping out of its place in the last 4-5 years. Additionally I had a habitual luxation, meaning that every step I was taking my patella was slightly dislocating.

I searched a lot on internet and with local doctors and finally decided to take the surgery with doctor Blond. It was the best decision I made. The quality of my life and the satisfactions I have are great.

Everything progressed very well after surgery, I started rehab intensely in the first 2 months mostly by myself but I became lazy as I could see I am walking better and better and because I have to spend a lot of time at my office job…For me it’s like I almost forgot I had this problem. It feels like it happened in another life

Doctor Blond and his team are true professionals but I have also appreciated their human value, the confidence they gave me. Although I was for a surgery in Copenhagen, I had a very good state of spirit and almost felt like in holidays and this is due to his team.(and a little bit due to anaesthetics and pain killers )

If you have punctual questions about surgery and recovery I gladly answer you but the best person to talk to is Lars Blond.

Even after 3 years, I still keep in touch with dr. Blond and still waiting for him to come and visit Romania.:)

Mona Popa

Tibial osteotomy

Dear Lars,

I promised to send you an email 1 year after my surgery, where I had a procedure (Tibia Osteotomy) The surgery took place at Alleris/Hamlet on October 3, 2017.

The first 8 weeks after the surgery were extremely hard, but bearable, the worst part was sleeping at night with donjoy on (smiliey) walking without support was a challenge, but you meet them in life anyway. I got a lot of use out of the sofa during those weeks.

I started physiotherapy about 14 days after the surgery and it went very well, after 3 weeks of 2 times a week I was able to cycle and get my leg all the way around, after that it was actually quick to get fit again. I can only recommend A-Fys in Solrød(https://www.a-fys.dk/) for being the best at rehabilitating patients.

After 6 months, I felt a clear improvement in my condition, the swelling was disappearing, and after 8 months I felt ready to start my regular training at my gym again.

Today, 13 months after the surgery, I’m almost Fit for fight again. However, I haven’t started on the Step Bench, as it seems unmanageable to be able to do it without hurting my knee.

(I used to tap dance 4 hours a week before), nor running, but everything else I’m pretty good at again…. Squat (although not as deep as before), regular hard training and light jumping on the spot works fine.

All in all, I am very happy with the surgery and grateful that you suggested it instead of a new knee right now.

Regarding the loss of sensitivity on the lower leg, I can say that it was a very large area for 0-10 months, but lately it’s pretty much only around the scar and at the bottom of the foot.

Thank you for your help and guidance, I’m happy (Smiley)

/Tina

Tina Toftemann Remove PictureWhatwas your experience with our product like?Submit

Thanks for submitting your testimonial.